Ministry of Industry, Economic Growth & Job Creation

The Towers, 25 Dominica Drive, Kingston 5
Telephone 926-1691-3/926-1590
Fax: 754-0975

The Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation (MEGJC) is charged with drafting the blueprint to drive economic growth and sustainable development in Jamaica.

The Ministry has responsibility for seven (7) critical portfolio areas. They are: Land, Environment, Climate Change, Investment, Water and Wastewater, Housing and Works.

The Political Directorate of the Ministry is headed by the Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness, O.N., M.P. He is supported by two Ministers Without Portfolio.

The Executive Management team at the Ministry is headed by Permanent Secretary, Mrs. Audrey Sewell J.P.

The team comprises the Director General, Dr. Sharon Crooks who is assigned to the Land, Environment, Climate Change and Investment portfolios.

There are also two Chief Technical Directors.

Support in the Investment portfolio is provided to the Director General by Mr. Omar Chedda, who is the Director of Investment.

Under its portfolio areas, the Ministry has oversight for some 48 Agencies, Departments and Divisions, which are responsible for approximately 68 subject areas.

They are:-

  1. Investment/General
  2. Agro Investment Corporation
  3. Development Bank of Jamaica
  4. Factories Corporation of Jamaica
  5. Harmonization Limited
  6. IMF Coordination Unit
  7. Jamaica International Financial Services Authority
  8. Jamaica Trade and Invest (JAMPRO)
  9. National Export-Import Bank of Jamaica ( EXIM Bank)
  10. Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ)
  11. Jamaica Business Development Centre (JBDC)
  12. Self-Start Fund
  13. Micro Investment Development Agency (MIDA)
  14. Kingston Container Terminal
  15. Kingston Free Zone
  16. Montego Free Zone
  17. National Housing Trust (NHT)
  18. Port Authority of Jamaica (PAJ)
  19. Port Authority Management Services
  20. Statistical Institute of Jamaica (STATIN)
  21. Urban Development Corporation (UDC and its subsidiaries)
  22. Land, Environment and Climate Change
  23. Land Administration and Management Programme (LAMP)
  24. Land Access for National Development (L.A.N.D) Project
  25. Land Development and Utilization Committee
  26. Land Divestment Advisory Committee
  27. National Land Agency
  28. National Spatial Data Management Division (NSDMD)
  29. Beach Control Authority
  30. Forestry Department
  31. Meteorological Services Division
  32. Climate Change Division
  33. Environment Risk Management Division
  34. Planning, Policy and Standards Division
  35. National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA) which includes the National Resource and Conservation Authority (NRCA); Town Planning Department; Town & Country Planning Authority
  36. The Negril/Green Island Area Local Planning Authority (NIGALPA)




Due to the restructuring, the Investment Unit at the former Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce, as well as the Works Policy Unit in the former Ministry of Transport, Works and Housing now fall under this Ministry.

We are currently in discussions with the Corporate Management Division of the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service to finalize the organizational structure for this Ministry, and will keep you abreast of any new developments.

The Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation is located at The Towers, 25 Dominica Drive, Kingston 5. Telephone 926-1590.